Conjuring up a Magical Day with Harry Potter

Harry Potter Studio Tour

Whilst this may be an obvious bookish place to blog about, this has been a blog waiting in the wings for a very long time and with the summer holidays looming, this could be a day to plan ahead.

 

For someone with such a fascination for children’s fiction, I have to admit I haven’t actually read the Harry Potter series myself. My eldest son has, who at the time was consumed by every word. Whilst I read many pages and chapters from each book when joining my eldest for bedtime reading in the early years, I got the disjointed version and I’m yet to embark on a whole book. Of course, I’ve seen all the films and they are right up my street of fantastical imagination! So, knowing my boys would love the experience of the Warner Bros Studio Tour, I too was curious to witness the meticulous transition from book to studio to screen.

As expected, the sets were impeccable, the detail precise. It is a world that any daydreamer longs to be believable. It’s a story that holds all the ingredients for uncovering hidden inner power, conquering struggles and giving voice to the autonomy of choice.

IMG_7038

The making of Harry Potter is certainly an alluring one for someone like me who enjoys writing and is open to the wonders of what our imaginations can create. Yet to witness such achievement and creativity from a writer are both awe inspiring and motivating to think that it all started from one small idea for a book. Whilst we know that the level of success generated from the idea of Harry Potter is one in a million, it’s still hard not to affectionately toy with that twinkle of knowing, that it can be done.

I’m just going to leave you with a few more tantalising photos that speak for themselves, of a trip we took to the Harry Potter Studios that I will never forget.

IMG_7022

IMG_7055

IMG_7023

IMG_7035

IMG_7092

#BFCB #BooksForChildrenBlog

@lonerganbooks

 

NOTE: Books for Children Blog is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk

Leave a comment