It’s a New Page in My Book!

Why is it that everyone suddenly starts to think about what they want in life at the start of a new year when every new day gives us that same opportunity to start afresh?

“Little by little one walks far.” Peruvian proverb.

This proverb is etched on a necklace I have. It appealed to me as the words resonate with how I deal with those moments when everything I want to achieve seems overwhelming. Writing a book is one such enormous task. A picture book may be short but there are still many aspects to consider but I find if I break each step down into bite sized chunks it becomes very satisfying when I can gradually tick them off as completed.

I’m finally about to turn a new page in my quest for publication. I have two picture books which are now ready to offer to publishers. For the past year I’ve been learning a great deal about format, style and expectations followed by the necessary tweaking in the hope that it will put me in good stead. Yet at the end of the day I know it’s down to me to dig out the confidence to put myself forward for criticism. So for 2016 I’m preparing for the barrage of rejections that everyone says is an inevitable part of the course and the lack of explanation for those rejections as well as conjuring up an endless dose of patience out of thin air; but above all I’m preparing to believe in myself and the possibility of that chance of success.

You could say my 2016 is starting to sound a little bit gloomy and a great deal more scary but a New Year is about having hope for something better and a new day is about putting that hope into action. So every day of 2016 I will be focusing on any new progression that I achieve, big or small. I will see the New Year as empty and waiting to be filled with endless possibilities and I‘ll be keeping my eyes on where I ultimately want to be. This way, each little day to day progression becomes a part of something much bigger.

There are two picture books I know that I think every little girl and boy should read as they echo these sentiments perfectly.


Little by LittleAmber Stewart (author) & Layn Marlow (illustrator); Published: OUP Oxford 2008.

This book is one of an adorable series of books about bravery, patience, trying new things and growing up but this is the one which has particularly stuck in my mind. It’s a story about Scramble the Otter who is trying to swim. He sees everyone else doing it but just can’t seem to do it himself. Until one day he’s shown that by taking little steps he can go a long way.

CLICK TO BUY Little by Little


Some Dogs DoJez Alborough (author/illustrator); Published: Walker Books, 2004.

This book manages to say so much in very few words as well as being fun, funny and written in rhyme. It’s about trusting and believing in yourself.  Just because someone else believes something is impossible doesn’t mean it is.

CLICK TO BUY Some Dogs Do

So whether the New Year helps you kick start some lost enthusiasm, move on from the loss of a loved one or achieve a burning ambition I wish you all a very happy and successful New Year.

Sources: personal or library copies.

 

NOTE: Books for Children Blog is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to  Amazon.co.uk

Leave a Reply

